Five Minute Friday – HOLD.

filtered-through-fingers-of-love**Five Minute Friday is an initiative set up by Lisa-Jo Baker over at Surprised by Motherhood. It has now been taken over by Kate over at Heading Home. The basic premise is to take the word Kate gives and write, non-stop for 5 minutes. Then you stop and post. Read more about it here.
My friend Claire at Life With Open Arms has been writing these for a while,on and off, and today I thought that I would give it a go.**

The prompt word is HOLD.

“This you know, my beloved brethren. But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger; for the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God.”  James 1:19-20

Start.

So, today I have had to realise that my temper and frustrations need to be put on hold, when my daughter shouts my name out for what seems like the millionth time, and I am trying desperately to nap.
She should be napping too. Or at least playing quietly. As should her little brother in the same room.

Instead, despite me asking her to go back to bed and stop yelling as –
she hasn’t pooed; No, I don’t know where Reverend Timms is (her little doll that looks just like the Rev from  the old school Postman Pat); and no she can’t ‘sleep’ in my bed, because we all know how that is going to go –
she keeps going, shouting at the top of her voice, pausing briefly whilst I wait to see if she will stop, before resuming several decibels louder.

My temper sadly didn’t hold, and I barked back at her pretty loudly and very crossly.
I was feeling desperate.
But she cried.
Normally I have more patience. Today I didn’t, and yet I was reminded of how much patience God has with us. With me.
I am human. But I need to let his love and patience flow in me more, and today I didn’t.
Not my proudest parenting moment.

I did however apologise to her, explain why she needed to allow me the space to myself during nap/quiet time. And then I held her. Close.

She is who I should hold. And my son. And who I should hold my temper for.
They are my precious gifts, given for me to love.
And I need to let God hold me in the tense moments.

Because everything is always better when we are being held close.

Isaiah 49 pic diffused

Stop.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – HOLD.

  1. Hi there, glad to meet you! Hopping over from Five Minute Friday and so glad you wrote with us this week! And wow, did I have a couple of these very same moments with my little two this week. Thank you for the encouragement to lean on HIM to help us hold it together for THEM. Such a needed word today.

    • Thank you so much for visiting and for your lovely encouraging comment – I can’t say I felt that buoyant today, but writing about it really helped. It’s always reassuring to know I am not the only one who has these moments, blessings for you and your two.

Leave a Reply

