Blank

(I have been thinking about grief lately….)

Sat
In a heady daze of low-grade dizziness.
Wishing for sleep.
Dreams skirting around the edges of my mind –
but never committing.

Quitting the housework after the washing up
Danced, jig-like,
Over the edge of the sink –
Your plate clattering to the floor,
As I stared out the window.

A quiet hum in my head,
Numb from the shock.

Empty pages waiting ages for confirmation,
A consummation never to arrive.
No thriving character to birth,
Worthy of time.
Smiles.
Energy.

Instead –

Innert,
a lifeless husk.

I find it hard to breathe.
Focus is gone,
As if under water.
I come up empty.

Living in the twilight,
Papery thin  –

Blank.

Leave a Reply

