‘…and ALL the time, God is good!’

image

So last week was pretty full on.
Here’s a bit of a round-up.

Monday: We returned from north Yorkshire, having had an early Christmas weekend with my husband’s side of the family. It was a lovely weekend and a long drive home, made complete by our gorgeous son throwing up all over himself and his carseat. Fun. Cleaned up, cuddled and back on our way, we made it home in one piece, got the kids into bed and put up our christmas tree and some of the decorations. Feeling pretty festive- God is good.

Tuesday: Woke to a text message telling us that my sister-in-law’s waters had gone and her baby was on the way early.
This baby was diagnosed with heart complications in utero, and the doctors were uncertain how long he or she might live. We sent out our own messages for people join with us in prayer for the situation. Moved by the response.
God is good.

Wednesday: Through the power of prayer and good support, she went into a natural labour, and quickly delivered a beautiful boy, who was born early that morning.
God is VERY good.
He is doing better than previously thought, the condition didn’t immediately require an operation, but the doctors were still uncertain about his future.
I’m expecting and believing God for a full, supernatural recovery.
God is faithful, God is good.

Whilst we were waiting for news about our newest nephew, there were more dramatic occurrences in our house.
Our son decided to attempt to crawl down the stairs, bypassing both mine and my husband’s radar.
At nine months nearly, it was a little too ambitious an adventure, and he tumbled most of the way down.
He was fine, praise God, just a little shocked, but very quickly consoled by some ‘ mummy-cuddles’ and his entertaining big sister.
It’s a good job that little ones are so soft and give in to the floor so well, or it could have been much worse.
God is good.

Thursday: My husband was driving in the fast lane of the motorway, returning from work, when out of the blue, the bonnet of the car unclipped itself and slammed into the windscreen.
It did what it was supposed to, and despite smashing, held itself in position. With only his wing mirrors to provide vision, he put his hazards on, and when there was a brief gap in the motorway, was able to get safely across to the hard shoulder and stop.
Prior to this moment there hadn’t been any traffic respite, nor was there during the following hour. It had come at exactly the right time.
The damage seemed minimal, and my husband was unscathed, aside from feeling a little shaken up.
God is good.

We are down to one car, until the insurance company assesses the damage, and we are in a busy season of events. That said, we will more than manage. God always provides.

Saturday: My husband drove north to meet our nephew. He is gorgeous.
We don’t know the future, but we know the present, and our nephew is here in the present. He is alive, beautiful and a huge blessing to his family.
Despite feeling pretty emotional and alternately flat and hopeful, I will not choose mourn whilst there is still hope. I will not grieve whilst he lives. And I will expect a miracle of healing in this situation, because there is still time to see one. God is loving, God is good.

Returning home in our one car, again on the motorway, my husband heard a rattling in the under-carriage and was unable to drive above 15mph, which he duly did for about a mile and a half down the hard shoulder in the dark.
He was able to exit at the next junction, and from the warmth of a friendly pub, only had to a wait 25 minutes for the RAC man to fix the problem, which thankfully wasn’t serious!

That same evening, someone anonymously posted a card through our door. It was addressed to us, simply saying ‘with love x’ and contained £55 which pretty much covered our fuel. Amazing! We are very grateful.

My point is, that God is good, whatever the circumstance, and however much pain we are in.

It is not my job to make life happen. I can’t, but I can lay hold of God’s promises of life, speak them out in faith, and trust the results to the God who loves me. Who loves our family

I can hope, putting my trust in the character of my God, who promises to work all things for our good and for his glory. (Romans 8:28)
My God, who says that he loves me with an everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3), and who loves my family. Who loves our nephew more than we do, and has a plan for his life (Jeremiah 29:11).

I can’t explain why some people live and others die. Why some people have testimonies of big breakthroughs, miracles and healings, but for others God seems not to get involved.

I do know that I don’t see all that far.
But that God has the vision of eternity.
That he is faithful, just, loving and good.
That he is deeply present with us in our suffering and feels it as keenly as we do. More so. Like a parent feels the pain of their child.
So I trust his sovereignty. I trust Him. I don’t have to understand, but I can ask him why. Sometimes I begin to understand a little better.

The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness. Jeremiah 31:3)

Jesus came to earth, as a vulnerable baby, lived out life as a man to show me that he understands what it feels like to be human. That he knows my pain.
I am safe to hope in him.

For He shall give His angels charge over you, To keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up, Lest you dash your foot against a stone. “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.” Psalms 91:11-12, 14-16 NKJV

Our nephew is still living, in fact he has improved, although not enough that it would be worth the risk of operating. So there is still hope. I am praying for continued improvements. I want him to have a long life.

Therefore I say, in the words of the psalmist –

”I  would  have  lost  heart, unless I had believed That I would see the goodness of the Lord In the land of the living. Wait on the Lord ; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord!”
(Psalms 27:13-14 NKJV)

One thought on “‘…and ALL the time, God is good!’

  1. Awesome messege Hun brought to mind Jeremiah 29:11 ‘ for I know the plans I have for you.’ Declares The Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’

Leave a Reply

